Chocolate and Beetroot Cake

Chocolate and Beetroot Cake (Side).jpg

Yes, I know what you are thinking; vegetables in a cake? I was thinking the exact same thing when I heard about it but I completely changed my opinion once I had tasted it. It is the best cake I have probably tasted in my entire life. It is so moist and sticky and also so rich! You really cannot taste the beetroot. If I was put this cake in front of me and I was not told what was in it, I would honestly never guess there was beetroot!

Ingredients:

  • 250g Beetroot
  • 200g Dark Chocolate
  • 200g Butter
  • 190g Golden Caster Sugar
  • 4tbsp of Hot Espresso
  • 3tbsp of Cocoa Powder
  • 1tsp of Baking Powder

Method:

  1. Set the Oven to 180°C/Gas Mark 4.
  2. Cook the beetroot, whole and unpeeled, in boiling unsalted water.
  3. Once tender, drain and let them cool.
  4. After they have drained, peel and slice the beetroot then place in a food processor and blitz until a puree.
  5. Snap the chocolate into small pieces and melt in a small bowl over a medium heat.
  6. When the chocolate is almost melted, pour the hot coffee over it and stir.
  7. Cut the butter and add that to the chocolate mixture and leave to soften.
  8. In a separate bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder and cocoa powder.
  9. Split the eggs and put the whites and yolks in separate bowls.
  10. Whisk the yolks.
  11. Now, work quickly but gently, remove the bowl of chocolate from the hob and stir the butter into the melted chocolate.
  12. Leave for a few minutes, then add the egg yolks.
  13. Fold in the beetroot.
  14. Whisk the egg whites until they are stiff and then fold in the sugar into the egg whites.
  15. Add and fold the egg white and sugar mixture to the chocolate.
  16. Lastly, fold in the flour and cocoa.
  17. Transfer to the cake tin and place in the oven.
  18. As soon as the cake is in the oven, turn down the temperature to 160°C/Gas Mark 3.
  19. Bake for forty minutes or until spongy and slightly wobbly.

Chocolate and Beetroot Cake (Over) (1).jpg

This cake is almost like a brownie as it is very gooey and very chocolatey. Can I just highlight the fact that the beetroot is so subtle it is almost untasteable?!

DISCLAIMER: This recipe was inspired by the one in Nigel Slater’s book Tender I.

13 thoughts on “Chocolate and Beetroot Cake

Add yours

  1. Looks yummy, can’t wait to try this. My daughter loves anything chocolate so she will especially love this. My “like” button isn’t working on my site, there seems to be some sort of glitch, hopefully we will figure out what is wrong, until then, I will be writing comments instead of likes.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Actually, the earthy combination of Beetroot and Dark Chocolate works exceedingly well and complement each other.
    I would like to offer one piece of advice, next time you make this great recipe instead of boiling the beetroot trying roasting it. Just wash the beetroot, place each one on a square of aluminium foil rub with olive oil. Season with salt and pepper, and wrap each beetroot individually. Roast in the oven at 160 C until just tender. While they are still warm unwrap and run under cold water to help remove the skins easily.

    Liked by 2 people

I know you are looking at that comment fill out box.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Let Me Think About Food

Food blogger - sweet and savoury recipes

Inkgirl Reads

Reading with the inkgirl

Reading & Rambling

reviews, tags, and more from the croissant king

Rosamae

Capture The Moment

