I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith


Even though I haven’t finished it yet, this is a really absorbing book.

What the book is about:

Published in 1949, the book is about a fifteen year old girl called Cassandra Mortmain who tells the story of her extraordinary family and their crumbling castle. Cassandra narrates this beautifully formed story in the form of a diary with thoughts and feelings. The book is split into three sections. Each section is a diary which add up to a year in her life.

What I like about the book:

I like this book because it talks about ordinary experiences that could happen in anyone’s life despite the fact that is fictional. I find the book intriguing because the author sometimes leaves cliff-hangers. The book is also very personal and you feel like you are really special in her life.

Who I would recommend this book to:

I would recommend this book to 12+ or anyone who is interested/inspired by Anne Frank as this is a bit like her diary. I would also recommend this book to readers of Jacqueline Wilson books as her style is very similar.

I Capture the castle Cover

cooltext1763293488                                                             cooltext1763292817

I know you are looking at that comment fill out box.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Paper Fury

read. write. world domination

Blissful, Bold, Beautiful

💗Be a Fruit Loop in a world full of Cheerios 👨‍👩‍👧‍👦

a Box of Buttons

Hannah's Homemades

